Donal Burke Lectures

The inaugural Donal Burke lecture was delivered in 1984 by Dr. John F. Fleetwood.  The Lecture is under the direction of the Section of General Practice.  The Section sought permission to arrange an annual lecture with the presentation of a bronze medal to be called “The Burke Medal“.  This was agreed by the General Council on Wednesday 7th December 1983

Previous presenters of the Donal Burke Memorial Lecture :

2005    Eugene O’Connor – Look Back in Anger and in Love

2004    E Farrell

2003     D. O’Connell

2002     Tom O’Dowd – General Practice and Primary Care – A Loveless Affair

2001     Michael Flynn

2000     Philip Reilly

1999     Michael Boland

1998     Gerard Bury

1997     Ellard W. Eppel – Memories, Morals, Misgivings

1996     James McCormick – Follies and Fallacies in Medicine Revisted

1995    John Mason – What Price Achievement?

1994     A. Meade – The Imperative Physician

1993     Laurence Fulham – Biddy Early and the C.A.T. Scan “The Realities of Primary Care”

1992     William Shannon – The Place of Academic General Practice in a Medical School Today

1991     C. McNamara

1990     Bartley Sheehan – Medicalisation of Social Unease

1989     David Nowlan – Medicine and the Media

1988     E. V. Rutledge

1987     R. O’Hanlon

1986     B. Long

1985     C. O’Doherty

1984     John F. Fleetwood – A Historical Review of General Practice


Inaugural Eugene O’Connor Silver Medal talk

2010     Hubert O’Connor – Napoleon’s Personal Physician –  an Irish Doctor’s story