Irish Journal of Medical Science Editorial Board

Quarterly Publication of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland


William P. Tormey, Beaumont Hospital & Trinity College, Dublin; Ulster University, Coleraine & Athlone Institute of Technology (Chemical Pathology)

Managing Editor

Helen Moore


Aine Kelly, Trinity College Dublin (Biomedical Sciences)

RAMI Research Awards Editor

James F.X. Jones, University College Dublin (Anatomy)

Editorial Advisors

  • Gerard Boran, Tallaght Hosptial. Dublin (Chemical Pathology)
  • Cillian Clancy, Tallaght Hosptial. Dublin (General Surgery)
  • Catherine Cleary, Mid-Western Regional Hospital, Dooradoyle, Limerick (Ophthalmology)
  • Michelle Duggan, Mayo General Hospital, Co. Mayo (Anaesthesiology)
  • Mary Higgins, University College Dublin (Obstetrics)
  • Fenton Howell, Health Service Executive, Co. Louth (Epidemiology)
  • Michael J. Lee, Beaumont Hospital & Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin (Interventional Radiology)
  • Peter MacMahon, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin (Radiology)
  • Philip T. Murphy, Beaumont Hospital, Dublin (Haematology)
  • John O’Byrne, Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland, Dublin (Orthopaedics)
  • Humphrey J. O’Connor, Adelaide & Meath Hospital, Dublin (Gastroenterology)
  • Mary O’Doherty, The Mercer Library, Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland, Dublin (Archivist)
  • Fardod O’Kelly, Tallaght Hospital & Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland, Dublin (Urology)
  • Eoghan O’Neill, Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland, & Connolly Hospital, Dublin (Clinical Microbiology)
  • Shirley Potter, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin (Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery)
  • James O’Neill, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin (Cardiology)
  • Dermot Power, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin (Geriatric Medicine)
  • John Quinn, Beaumont Hospital, Dublin (Blood Sciences)
  • Denise Sadlier, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, Dublin (Nephrology)
  • Seamus Sreenan, Connolly Hospital, Dublin (Endocrinology)
  • Hemal Thakore, University of Limerick (Medical Education)
  • Sean Tierney, Adelaide & Meath Hospital, Dublin (Vascular Surgery)



  • Professor Kevin Carson, Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland, RAMI Office, Frederick House, South Frederick Street, Dublin 2

General Secretary & Treasurer

  • Dr. Patrick O’Sullivan (Epidemiology & Public Health Medicine)

Immediate Past President

  • Professor Dermot Power

RAMI Executive Board Members

  • Cannon, Prof. Mary 
  • Cotter, Dr. David 
  • Howell, Dr. Katherine 
  • Kane, Dr. Bridget 
  • McReynolds, Dr. David 
  • O’Sullivan, Prof. Maureen 
  • Roddy, Dr. Darren W