Haughton Lectures

The Bioengineering Section successfully applied to the General Council of the Academy to have a Silver Medal awarded for the Samuel Haughton Lecture. The lecture will be in the field of bioengineering and will be delivered annually. The lecturer will be Irish, or be working in Ireland, and will alternate between a medically qualified person and one qualified in engineering and related sciences. The lecturer will be a distinguished figure in their field, of Consultant or senior academic or professional status, with a substantial body of published work. A Selection Committee, composed of the President, Secretary and two Council Members of the Section and two nominated members of the General Council of the Academy, will invite a suitable person to deliver the Samuel Haughton Lecture.

The Haughton Lecture in honour of Rev. Samuel Haughton is organised by the Section of Bioengineering. The lecturer receives the Academy’s silver medal.

“Death is produced by hanging in one or other of the three following ways:
1. By apoplexy, caused by pressure on the jugular veins;
2. By asphyxia, caused by stoppage of the windpipe;
3. By shock of the medulla oblongata, caused by fracture of the vertebral column.
In the first two cases death is preceded by convulsions, lasting from five to forty five minutes …… In the third case death is instantaneous and painless…”

Read more

Previous presenters of the Samuel Haughton Lectures:

2019     Dennis McGonagle

2018     Fergal O’Brien

  • Merging Generations: Irish Bioengineering for the 21st Century

2017     David FitzPatrick

2016     Timothy O’Brien

2015     Tim McGloughlin

2014     James E. Coleman

2013     Richard Reilly

2012     C. James KirkPatrick

2011     Peter E. McHugh

2010     Thomas Clive Lee

2009     Frank Gannon

2008     Patrick J. Prendergast

2007     David E. Beverland

2006     David Taylor

2005     Alexander W. Blayney

2004     Neville J. Hogan

2003     Robert McNeill Alexander

2002     John F. Orr

2001     Moira O’Brien

2000     Tony M. Keaveny

1999     Michael M. Stephens

1998     Annraoi de Paor

1997     Pierce A. Grace –

1996     John O’Connor

1995     James M. Sheehan


Bioengineering Section Conference, 18th & 19th Jan 2019

18/01/2019 in Castletroy Park Hotel, Casteltroy, Limerick

Bioengineering Section Conference, 26th & 27th Jan 2018

26/01/2018 1:00pm in Johnstown House Estate, Enfield, Co. Meath

Samuel Haughton Lecture Friday 20th Jan 2017

20/01/2017 2:00pm in Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland