Conway Review Lectures

The Conway Review Lectures honours Edward Joseph Conway F.R.S. (3rd July 1894 – 29th December 1968) who was a brilliant biochemist.  He was known for works pertaining to electrolyte physiology and analytical chemistry.  He was born in Nenagh, Co. Tipperary and entered the medical school at UCD in 1912.

He was the first Professor of Biochemistry at University College Dublin and UCD’s Conway Institute of Biomolecular and Biomedical Research, which opened in August 2003, was named in his honour.

The RAMI Section of Biomedical Sciences with the Council of the Academy selects the lecturer each year and the first lecture was delivered in 1977 by Ian C. Roddie. The annual lecture is delivered by a prominent scientist working on the island of Ireland.  The lecturer is invited to provide a review article in the Academy’s publication, the Irish Journal of Medical Science

Historical review E. J. Conway, F.R.S., 1894–1965 by CS Breathnach in the Irish J Med Sci. , Volume 163, Issue 8, pp 366–368


Conferring of the fellowship of the royal college of physicians of Ireland upon professor Edward Conway, F.R.S.

Previous presenters of the Conway Review Lectures :

2021     Paul McLoughlin

  • From the Himalayas to intensive care: how does the lung cope?

2017     Stephen Keely

  • Bile Acids: From ancient miracle to modern medicine

2015     Madeleine M. Lowery

2014     Mark A Hollywood

2013     John F. Cryan

2012     John J. O’Connor

2011     Dermot Kelleher

2010     Finian Martin

2009     Michael Rowan

2008     J Oliver Dolly

2006     Marina A. Lynch

2005     Alan Keenan

2004     Cliona O’Farrelly

2003     Graham McGeown

2002     Gerald H Tomkin

2001     H. Mike Snow

2000     William T. O’Connor

1999     Ciaran M. Regan

1998     Keith D. Thornbury

1997     Michael J. Duffy

1996     D. G. Hirst

1995     Luke O’Neill

1994     Brian J. Harvey

1993     Alan W. Baird

1992     James R. Docherty

1991     Noel G. McHale

1990     Michael T. Kane

1989     Elizabeth M. Gebruers

1988     Michael P. Ryan

1987     John L. Waddington

1986     C.T. Kirkpatrick

1985     M. W. J. Ferguson

1984     D. J. O’Donovan

1983     Petr Skrabanek

1982     Patrick J. Gaffney

1981     James A. Houghton

1980     Keith D. Buchanan

1979     Roderick P. Kernan

1978     Patrick F. Fottrell

1977     Ian C. Roddie



Biomedical Sciences Section Annual Meeting, Thursday 22nd June 2017

22/06/2017 9:30am in The Tercentenary Lecture Theatre, Level 2, Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute, TCD, Dublin 2

Conway Review Lecture 2015

14/09/2015 5:30pm in Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland