OtoRhinoLaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery (ORL-HNS)

Section President: Prof. Ivan Keogh 

Section Secretary: Dr. Eimear Phelan 

Section Council Members:

Representative on General Council:

Although not one of the original sections, the section of Laryngology and Otology was established prior to the first extant minute book which dates from 1939. The name of the section was later changed to the Section of Otorhinolaryngolgy. As with the other sections this section is governed by a President and council, and holds regular meetings at which members present cases.

Here is the President’s Inaugural address to the Section of Laryng-otology delivered on January 16th 1931:

President – Sir Robert Woods.

It was suggested to me that at this, the first meeting of the Section of Laryngology and Otology of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland, it would be of interest if I reviewed the progress made in our speciality during the years that have elapsed since I began practice. So, with your permission, like pioneers who pause from their labour to look around and contemplate the ground already cleared, we shall cast a glance behind us in the hope of finding sufficient satisfaction in what we have already achieved to inspire us with hope and encouragement for what lies before us.

Read more


Recipients of Medals in RAMI Section of OtoRhinoLaryngology   

2021     Eric Farrell

2020     Alison McHugh

2019     Eric Farrell & Fergus Kavanagh

2018     R. Benjamin Speaker

2017     Claudine Murphy

2016     Dave C. Dick

2015     Samir Jaber

2012     Ann O’Connor

2010     Mohamed Amin

2009     Seng-Guan Khoo

2008     Deirdre Fitzgerald

2006     Paul Burns

1996     M. Colreavy

1995     A. Curran

1994     S. Hone

1992     M. Donnelly

1991     R. Gaffney

1989     J. Jawad

1988     W. E. Grant

1987     Niall Considine

Published Proceedings in the Irish Journal of Medical Science


See more Abstracts

Ahmed Abdelaal Ahmed Mahmoud,  Mohamed I Younis,  Christopher Holmes,  Amr Sallam,  Mohamed Gomaa Kamel,  Eugene Dempsey, Orla Mulhern 

Participation of the hospitals in the Republic of Ireland in international research over more than a decade: a bibliometric analysis


Ellen Horgan,  Susan Lawson &  Desmond O’Neill 

Oropharyngeal dysphagia among patients newly discharged to nursing home care after an episode of hospital care


Robbie S. R. Woods,  Qistina Pilson,  Natallia Kharytaniuk,  Lorraine Cassidy,  Rizwana Khan, Conrad V. I. Timon 

Outcomes of endoscopic orbital decompression for graves’ ophthalmopathy