History of Medicine

Section President: 

Section Secretary:

Section Council Members:

Representative on General Council:

The Section of the History of Medicine was established in 1956. As with the other sections this section is governed by a President and council, and hold regular meetings at which members present papers.  The founder of the Section was Dr. T.G. Wilson

Section President: Prof. Davis Coakley      DCOAKLEY@tcd.ie

Section Secretary: Prof. Alun Evans, Professor Emeritus, Centre for Public Health, The Queen’s University of Belfast, Institute of Clinical Science B, Grosvenor Road, Belfast BT12 6BJ, United Kingdom     a.evans@qub.ac.uk

Council Members: Mary O’Doherty, Patrick Plunkett, Frank Powell, Freddie Woods, Susan Mullaney


History of Medicine Section, Wednesday 13th November 2019

13/11/2019 6:00pm in Conor Ward Room, First Floor, Setanta House, Setanta Place, Dublin 2

History of Medicine Section, Wednesday 16th October 2019

16/10/2019 6:00pm in Geoffrey Bourke Room, First Floor, Setanta House, Dublin 2

History of Medicine Section, Wednesday 3rd July 2019

03/07/2019 5:00pm in Board Room, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, 123, St Stephen’s Green, Dublin 2


See more Abstracts

C. Lee

Chairman’s opening address at the Sir William Wilde Bi-Centenary Symposium


Keyword William Wilde Bi-Centenary Symposium

S. Mullaney

Sir William Wilde and provision for the blind in nineteenth-century Ireland


Keywords William Wilde – Blindness – Nineteenth-century Ireland – Census – Ophthalmia

P. Froggatt

The demographic work of Sir William Wilde


Keywords William Wilde – Nineteenth-century Ireland – Census – Demography – Deaf mutism – Plaque