Biomedical Sciences

Section President: 

Section Secretary:

Section Council Members:

Representative on General Council:

At a meeting of the General Council of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland, held on Friday 22nd September, 1961  Dr. T.A. Cunningham gave notice that at the Annual General Meeting the Section of Anatomy and Physiology will propose a change in their title to the Section of Biological Section.  It was proposed by Dr. Cunningham and seconded by Dr. Mitchell.  Some years later, in February 1992 the Secretary of the Section of Biological Sciences requested that the Section be allowed to change to a more appropriate title of the Section of Biomedical Sciences. This was agreed unanimously.


For presenters of Conway Review Lectures click here

Donegan Medal Winners

2017     Nicola Kavanagh & Deirdre Scully

2016     Emily Ryan

2015     Hugh S. O’Neill

2014     Sinead Quinn

2013     F.E. O’Brien

2012     Eric Lucking

2011     Amro Widaa

2009     K. O’Hanlon

2008     R. Bechara

2007     R. O’Callaghan

2006     C. Holohan

2005     A. O’Connell

2004     E. Farrell

2003     F. McGillicuddy

2002     A. McMahon

2001     P. Carroll

2000     D. Houlihan

1999     E. Dunne

1998     T. Keane

1997     A. Fitzgerald

1996      J. Kilbride & K. A. Fitzgerald

1995     A. M. Aherne

1994     M. O’Rourke

1993     J. O’Neill

1992     K. D. O’Halloran

1991     E. Breslin

1990     P. Nolan

1998     J. Hegarty

1989     C. Bannon

1988     E. Stuart

1987     K.M. Bill & M. Gallagher

1986     A. C. G. Uprichard


Barcroft Medal Winners

2017     Bernard Drumm

2016     Sinead M. Ryan

2015     Alice C. O’Farrell

2014     Dara J Lundon

2013     Niamh M. Cooke

2012     RM O’Connor

2011     Sweta Rani

2010    Eric Downer













Presidential Lecture 2019, Professor Andrew Green, Tuesday 26th November 2019

26/11/2019 7:00pm in Corrigan & Graves Halls, RCPI, 6, Kildare Street, Dublin 2

RAMI Research Awards, Wednesday 6th November 2019

06/11/2019 6:30pm in Corrigan & Graves Halls, RCPI, 6, Kildare Street, Dublin 2

Biomedical Sciences Section Annual Meeting, Thursday 22nd June 2017

22/06/2017 9:30am in The Tercentenary Lecture Theatre, Level 2, Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute, TCD, Dublin 2


See more Abstracts

Xuehui Liu, Jianping Zhang, Zhaowei Meng, Qiang Jia, Jian Tan, Guizhi Zhang, Xue Li, Na Liu, Tianpeng Hu, Pingping Zhou, Qing Zhang, Kun Song, Qiyu Jia

Gender impact on the correlations between Graves’ hyperthyroidism and hyperuricemia in Chinese


Keywords Gender; Graves’ disease (GD);  Hyperthyroidism;  Hyperuricemia;  Serum uric acid (SUA) 

Multiple authors

Proceedings of the RAMI Section of Biomedical Sciences Annual Meetings, 2013- 2015


T.C. Lee

Anatomists and Geometers: 16th Samuel Haughton Lecture of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland


Keywords Samuel Haughton – Bone – Adaptation – Remodelling – Microdamage – Osteoporosis – Education – On-line teaching – Art – Anatomy